Deleting Patient Form Memory

Patient Form Memory is the ability for Ocean to remember a patient's form completion history (i.e. Ocean will remember if a patient has already filled out a certain eForm and therefore won't allow them to fill it out again). A detailed description of Ocean's Form Memory feature can be found here.

Form Memory is very useful for preventing duplicate eForm submissions, so you will generally not need to override this function. However, there are a number of reasons in which you might want to tell Ocean to delete a patient's form completion history. For example, if you are testing a form with sections that hide/show depending on the last time it was completed or an eForm Action that depends on first-time usage. In addition, if a patient legitimately needs to re-complete a form that is hidden due to the patient's previous completion, you'll need to delete their form memory.

To reset the form memory for a patient, first make sure the patient is loaded into the Patients tab in the Ocean portal:

  • If you are using PSS, insert the custom form in the patient's chart.
  • If you are going through the Ocean portal, use "New Patient" and make sure the last name, birthdate and sex are complete and correct.

Then, back in the Ocean portal, in the Patients tab, click on the patient and view the patient's pop-up information. Click "Advanced" and select "Clear Form Memory". The patient has now been "forgotten" by Ocean.

Note: Remember that Ocean isn't remembering the actual patient data, but rather a cryptographic hash that cannot be reversed.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request