Where do eReferral notification emails get sent to?

Automatic email notifications are triggered for both patients and referrers whenever a referral's status is changed from "New" to "Booked"/"Cancelled"/"Declined", or a referral's appointment date or time is changed.

Simply "Accepting" an eReferral does not typically send an email notification (unless you are in the uncommon scenario that the eReferral is submitted under an eRequest specifically configured to do so).

Determining which email address(es) notifications are sent to depends on the conditions under which the referral was sent and the nature of the notification.

Notification Email Rules

eReferral Senders eReferral Receivers Patients

Email Notifications for Referrers

Notification emails are sent to the referrer when:

  • An appointment date is booked, changed, or removed
  • Booking comments are added or changed
  • The referral is forwarded
  • The referral is canceled
  • The referral is declined
  • A secure message is sent to the referrer (patients do not receive this message)
Notifications will be sent based on the following conditions:
An Ocean user is associated with the referral
  • Notifications will be sent to one of the following email addresses in the user's My Account page (found in the Ocean portal, clicking on your name at top right hand corner, and selecting "View my Account"):

    • Referral Notification Email
    • Clinical Delegate Email
    • The user's Email Address
The referrer provided a specific notification email when sending the referral

The provided email will be used.

The referral was sent from an eReferral Custom Form in an EMR

Notifications will be sent to the referral notification email configured for the specific user within the EMR's custom form, or the site within the EMR's custom form.

Email Notifications for Referral Delegates

If a delegate user sends a referral on behalf of a referring provider, Ocean will use the provider's user settings to determine where the referral notifications are directed.

Therefore, the delegate user will NOT receive the referral notifications themselves, unless their email address is set as the "Referral Notification Email" in the provider's My Account page.

The conditions listed above in the "Email Notifications for Referrers" section still apply to determine which of the provider user's email address the notifications are sent to.

Have more questions? Submit a request