Why is it prompting me to sign in when I send a message from my EMR?

As of the Ocean release on Feb 15, 2017:

Users who are sending Ocean Secure Messages directly from the EMR, without using an Ocean account, may see this message when they click "Send":

Signing in with an Ocean Account will enable the "notifications" are triggered by the following options in the "Send Email" dialog:

  • Notify me when viewed
  • Notify me when complete
  • Notify me if no response after: __

For security reasons, Ocean forces the email sender to have an Ocean account to remove any ambiguity as to who the email is sent from and where it was sent.

If any EMR users are sending Ocean emails right now without an Ocean account (a.k.a. "anonymous EMR users"), they will see this prompt:

"To continue using notifications for all users, please ensure that all your Ocean message senders proceed to sign up for an Ocean account in the usual manner. Your Ocean site administrator will need to either invite them or add them to your site."

Once the user's account is created, he or she can proceed to email the patient from the EMR and "link" the user's EMR account to their Ocean account by clicking on the button at the top of the email dialog.

Alternatively, you can change your email templates to avoid using the notification options above.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request